Producer's Spotlight: Why the Triad?

Editor's Note: Once a month we have one of our producers share their experiences with running the show. This month it's Ralph Buckley - the only producer who doesn't perform in the show. He shares with us why we are so true to the Triad.

Ah, the holiday season has arrived. Jack Frost is nipping at our nose. Sleigh bells are ringing. In the meadow, there is a snowman.
And there is one reason above all to celebrate this time of year. It is, of course...
The People's Choice, the Golden Globes, the Critic's Choice, Screen Actors Guild Awards, BAFTA, Grammys, Independent Spirit, the Academy Awards, and of course, the most prestigious award show of them all:
The Broadway's Next Hit Musical PHONY awards!

All these awards shows are held at many glamorous venues. And the Broadway's Next Hit Musical Phony Awards are no exception.
For the 4th year in a row, BNHM starts their new year with 2 nights of New York shows at Stage 72 on Friday, January 15 & Saturday, January 16 at the Triad. Newly renovated, the Triad has added plush banquettes, gilded wall paneling, a new proscenium and antique globe lighting. 

The intimate and elegant feeling you get when entering the space helps make the Broadway's Next Hit Musical Phony Award experience unique among the awards show circuit.

It is also home to some of the longest running Off-Broadway shows in history including "Forever Plaid", "Celebrity Autobiography", "Nunsense", and "Forbidden Broadway". 

An amazing list of performers have appeared there as well. Among them are Danny Aiello, Fred Armisen, Vanessa Bayer, Joy Behar, Richard Belzer, George Benson, Craig Bierko, Matthew Broderick, Bobby Cannavale, Mario Cantone, Vanessa Carlton, Dick Cavett, Christopher Cross, Alan Cummings, Tony Danza, Rachel Dratch, Susie Essman, Art Garfunkel,  Jeff Garlin, Gavin DeGraw, Joey Fatone, Will Forte, Jeanane Garofalo, Gina Gershon, Debbie Harry, Cheyenne Jackson, Kristin Johnson, Tim Kazurinsky, Richard Kind,  Nathan Lane, Susan Lucci, Andrea Martin, Donna Murphy, Bobby Moynihan, Laraine Newman, Kevin Nealon  Rhea Perlman, Matthew Perry, Seth Rudetsky, Molly Shannon, Sherri Shepherd, Brooke Shields, Martin Short, Kenan Thompson, Kristen Wiig, Rita Wilson, BD Wong, Karen Ziemba and Alan Zwiebel.

Broadway's Next Hit Musical has been called "a 21st century Forbidden Broadway." We are honored to be in such prestigious company. And could not be more excited to find out who will win this season's Phony Award. 

Who knows? But it is likely that in the future one of our winners will be placed in the pantheon of the aforementioned stars that have appeared at the Triad. And that Broadway's Next Hit Musical will be among the list of the longest running Off-Broadway shows in history.

Posted on December 10, 2015 and filed under Producer Spotlight.